The Gravity Water Filter

Over all the years of backpacking and being in the wilderness I have never had such a great water filtration system as MSR’s Mainstream Gravity Water Filtration System.

When I started tripping when I was very young we always used the MSR Miniworks hand pump, which takes a long time and you need to physically pump all the water by hand.  This water filter is very dependable and I still have my old one that I started out with in working order…but when I first tried this new gravity filter I was hooked.

It’s so easy to use, all you have to do is fill up the dirty reservoir with water from the lake or stream and then hang it in a tree and the clean reservoir fills up with purified water.  You can even take off the clean reservoir and just use the shut off valve to have clean water on demand.

The Platypus Gravity Water Filter

The Platypus Gravity Water Filter

Click here for more information on different water filters and purification devices.

About adventureoutfittingguide

I am an adventurer who works as a paramedic on the side. I love being in the wilderness hiking, canoeing, biking or anything that gets me outside in the beautiful wilderness.
This entry was posted in Backpacking Gear, Survival, Wilderness Backpacking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

