Sleeping in the Outdoors

I’m one of those people that have trouble sleeping…even when I’m in my bed, it’s dark and there are no sounds.  When sleeping in the wilderness it’s usually even harder for me to fall asleep and stay asleep.

I love doing solo trips but I find that I sleep even less when I’m out by myself.  Every noise I hear from the woods sounds like a bear or moose that’s going to trample me.  Those trees creaking in the wind are going to fall on my tent any minute.  Those howling wolves sound like they’re right outside of my tent and the cawing of crows at 4 in the morning are definitely not appreciated!

The best way I have found to combat my lack of sleep at night is to wear ear plugs.  I love my ear plugs.  I put them in and the world around me disappears.  I can pretend to be back in my bed fast asleep.

You might think that I sound bitter about the outdoors and am not a true outdoors person because I’m trying to block out the sounds of nature.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the outdoors and all the sounds that come with it…but I won’t love it if I spend every night that I’m out lying awake listening to the sounds.

So next time you’re out in the wild, do yourself a favor and tune out the world for a few hours then you’ll be ready to fully appreciate everything around you.

About adventureoutfittingguide

I am an adventurer who works as a paramedic on the side. I love being in the wilderness hiking, canoeing, biking or anything that gets me outside in the beautiful wilderness.
This entry was posted in Outdoor Adventures, Survival Skills, Wilderness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleeping in the Outdoors

  1. Galen says:

    Nice piece of writing, We are viewing back again on a regular basis to discover refreshes.

Leave a Reply

