The Hammock Tent

When wilderness backpacking it’s crutial to pack small and pack light.  A great way to do this is to get rid of the big bulky tent with those tent poles and fly and just carry a hammock tent.

I have a Portec hammock tent that I picked up for only $65 and it works great.  The only downfall to the one that I have is that it doesn’t have any bug netting built in.  It has the capability to wrap around me but somehow bugs always find a way in.  I tend to only use this hammock tent in the early spring before the bugs come and in the late fall after the bugs are gone…though in the fall I do find it pretty cold sleeping suspended in the air.

Portec Hammock Tent

Portec Hammock Tent

 

You can purchase hammock tents that come with built in musketo netting and a fly that you susbend above the tent to keep the rain out.  These will still save you quite a bit of space and weight.

So check them out and get out in the beautiful outdoors!

About adventureoutfittingguide

I am an adventurer who works as a paramedic on the side. I love being in the wilderness hiking, canoeing, biking or anything that gets me outside in the beautiful wilderness.
This entry was posted in Adventure Traveling, Backpacking Gear, Outdoor Adventures, Wilderness Backpacking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

