Bug Season

With bug season here sometimes backpacking can turn more into a speed-walk/jog as you try to keep ahead of the cloud of black-flies and mosquitoes.  What you need is a good bug spray.  I always find the sprays that have deet in them work the best but they are corrosive so you don’t want to get deet on your pack or tent.

I hate wearing bug spray, I don’t like the smell and I always feel sticky when I have it on.  I prefer to wear a bug shirt and long pants so the bugs can be all around me but can’t get at me.

The Original Bug Shirt

I have “The Original Bug Shirt” and find it cool in temperature to wear and very effective against mosquitoes and black-flies.  You might think it looks a little ridiculous but it’s a smart thing to wear during bug season and you might start wishing you had one when you’re in the middle of no-where surrounded my swarms of bug.

About adventureoutfittingguide

I am an adventurer who works as a paramedic on the side. I love being in the wilderness hiking, canoeing, biking or anything that gets me outside in the beautiful wilderness.
This entry was posted in Backpacking Gear, Hiking, Survival, Wilderness, Wilderness Backpacking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

